Vale of Glamorgan Football League Round Up

Vale of Glamorgan Football League Round Up

Barry Athletic are Vale of Glamorgan AFL Premier Division Champions. It was a day of controversy in the Vale league on Saturday as Barry Athletic were crowned Premier Division Champions in bizarre fashion. Coming into the weekend leaders St Athan needed a win over title rivals FC Barry Belgrade to claim the title after Belgrade’s dramatic collapse recently, where they lost their last three games. However, Belgrade could not field a side and withdrew from the league thus seeing their record expunged. St Athan consequently lost the four points gained from games against Belgrade, and so Barry Athletic required a win from their now final game against Penarth Town to clinch the championship, Athletic dispatched Penarth 4-2 and take top spot. The Premier Division has been a competitive and tight league in which on their day any team could beat another, and following a tremendous title race Barry Athletic are deserved champions.

In Division One, there was more discussion and debate as champions Sully Sports now await for the vote on whether clubs with first teams in the higher SWFA Alliance league can see their reserve teams be promoted to the top division of local league. A rule that has denied teams like Sully and Cogan promotion to the premier division in recent years. In the one remaining Division One game Tynewydd finished their season strongly with a 1-0 win over Cogan.

In Division Two, it was a much more straight forward affair with Llantwit Major continuing their complete domination of the division with a 10-0 win over Vale Madrid. An incredible first season back in the Vale league for Llantwit having won every league fixture, the Dockers Cup and runners up in the Barry Cup.

And so the 2017/18 season comes to an end, another exciting and entertaining season in the Vale. Congratulations to Premier Division Champions Barry Athletic, Barry Cup winners St Athan, ASRS Cup winners FC Barry Belgrade, Division One Champions and Supporters Cup winners Sully Sports and Division Two Champions and Dockers Cup winners Llantwit Major. Have a good summer and check back here in August for a the new season.


Start a Conversation

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *